Enter Your Awards

ebos awards2016

Simon Wallace sm By Simon Wallace, Chief Executive, NZACA, 27 June 2016

Enter your awards – and reap the benefits

Every day in this role I am consistently awed by the dedication and commitment of our members and the thousands of individuals who work across their care homes providing outstanding care and support for New Zealand’s elderly.

To all those care homes and individuals, I encourage you to enter the NZACA/EBOS Healthcare Excellence in Care Awards 2016 – these are your awards. They are the most prestigious awards for our sector and a chance for you, your staff and your home to shine!

The entry process is quick and straight forward and the benefits of entering and winning are numerous – including boosting staff morale and helping recruit new staff, gaining high-profile exposure for your care home, providing insight into your operation and leadership style, inspiring others and providing a benchmark of excellence. There are also prizes for all our winners.

Our Awards programme and our winners will also raise the profile of the aged residential care sector with the media, public and government – highlighting the excellent care our members deliver, often in financially challenging circumstances.

Honour outstanding individuals

Aged care homes would be nothing without the individuals who work in them – from management to caregivers, chefs, gardeners, nurses, admin workers and volunteers. That’s why we have expanded the Awards programme to include two new individual awards.

One is for the stand-out individual in a care home – the person who always goes the extra mile to improve the quality of life for the residents.

The second individual award is for legendary service – this person will have been working in the sector for more than 10 years and over their career will have continuously made a positive difference in the lives of residents and staff.

Excellence – in everything from food to training

This year, as well as our two new individual awards, we have introduced an award that recognises the outstanding work of smaller operators in the care, support and enrichment they bring to their residents and their families, and their staff.

There are five other care home awards. These recognise excellence across a range of specific areas that are vital to the running of a success home. They include staff training, connecting with the community, innovative delivery of care, excellence in food, and exceptional design, construction or changes to a care home to create a positive environment for residents and staff.

Celebrate success

Entries close at 5pm on 11 August. The finalists will be announced in September, and the winners presented with their awards and prizes at a gala dinner on Wednesday 5 October, part of NZACA’s 2016 Conference at the SKYCITY Convention Centre in Auckland.

I look forward to seeing your entries and celebrating with you on 5 October.

Find out more on our website.